February Top TBR

Yay! The “Top TBR” is a new feature I’ll be doing every beginning of the month, wherein I’ll list books I look forward to reading the most, whether it’s an upcoming release or not πŸ™‚ The list will not be in any particular order.
This originally was a list of 10 books, but then I pared it down to 5, because I realized it wasn’t exactly a realistic number. Not because I can’t read 10 books in a month, but because I am ridiculously easily sidetracked, and I have always been horrible at checking the boxes off lists, lol.
1.Β remembranceRemembrance by Meg Cabot (Mediator #7)
Β  Β  Ohmigod you guys, I don’t think anyone knows the extent of my Meg Cabot phase back in high school. I remember it started with Avalon High, which was my first hardcover ever, and it snowballed until it stopped with the “Boy” series. A huge part of that phase was the Mediator series, and after more than 10 years since the last book was published it’s coming back! Suze has grown up alongside me, and this is the first time I’ll be reading something where the series has transitioned (or grown up?) alongside its readers. I’m also hoping this will get me back to reading Meg Cabot’s books, because the last one I read, Insatiable, wasn’t really my favorite. Maybe it was because the romance didn’t quite click with me? Neither of the male heroes weren’t my type, so perhaps with the comeback of Jesse and Suze, my Meg Cabot love will be rekindled!

 

Β  Β  The summary, really, is what sold me on this book. While this: “The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau.” isn’t exactly my favorite bit (Beautiful boy? Time stopping? The romantic realist in me is scoffing) the next part reels me right back in: “Friday Night Lights meets The Time Traveler’s Wife”. I’ve avoided reading contemporary YA, because I feel like it’s either I can’t relate (because my high school experience was relatively tame, lol), or I’ll just have a lot of feelings and I won’t know how to deal. There is not in-between for me, really. I’m hoping this’ll be the perfect blend of fantasy and contemporary, and make me curious to pick up more contemporary YA novels πŸ™‚

Β  Β  I will forever cherish Red Queen (see, you can judge a book by its very beautiful, minimalist cover lol) because it’s what made me jump back into my reading phase, so it’s no wonder I’ve been looking forward to reading Glass Sword ever since I finished the first book back in June. Maven and the Darkling are two of my favorite bad boys too, so… yay more Maven! (I have yet to get around to buying the 2nd book in the Grisha trilogy, haha)

 



Β  Β  So much potential for awesomeness with this one (I was hooked when the words “a Learned One, a part of an Arnath group educated in higher order symbols. In Qilara, this language is so fiercely protected that only the King, the Prince, and Tutors are allowed to know it” because this reminds me of how the Korean language came about), and I hope I’m not just heaping on my expectations for this and then watch it come crashing down when it doesn’t quite reach them.

 



fire falling5. Fire Falling by Elise Kova (Air Awakens #2)
Β  Β  I will never forget the last few pages of Air Awakens because I can’t remember the last time I felt so pissed. Where is the justice?! Where is the fairness?! This is why I don’t like politics! Vhalla better snatch wigs and get some heads rolling before Earth’s End (which releases this month!)




Leave a Reply

