March TBR

This month features all my usual suspects: fantasy, retellings (a theme I have had going since last year), and ladies that could potentially kick ass. I’m slowly breaking myself away from what I usually read this year, but for this month, I’m sticking to my YA fantasy bent. Most of these have been on my TBR since last year. Needless to say expectations have been set.

 

Also, I need to Google “how to format in WordPress” because all my paragraphs run-in with each other, especially in this kind of post. I either have to ramble on about the book so it goes past the cover, or find some kind of code that’ll allow me to move on to the next paragraph without the images and paragraph overlapping.
shadow queen
  1. The Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine
While on my retelling spree last year, I came across this one. Aside from Stitching Snow, this is one of the Snow White retellings on my TBR list. Hopefully I’ll like this one better! (Also, I like most of Balzer + Bray’s published books, so… *crosses everything that can be crossed*)

2. Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor
You had me at “Outlander for teens”, but mostly because I love anything with Scotland in it. It’s one of my dream destinations. Also, time travel! Yes to more time travel!

 

3. The Great Hunt by Wendy Higgins

“…dark fantasy filled with rugged hunters, romantic tension, outlawed magic, and a princess willing to risk all to save her people”

YES YES YES to all of this. Please kick ass. Please give me a good romance.

And it helps that this has a catchy tagline: Kill the beast. Win the girl. This is apparently another fairy tale retelling, but one I am not familiar with – The Singing Bone by The Brothers Grimm.

burning glass
4. Burning Glass by Kathryn Purdie
See I’m not averse to the love triangle. Other people hate it, I don’t mind it most of the time, especially when both guys are worth troubling your little heart and mind over, and if the plot doesn’t revolve around it. I don’t like it when it’s all the heroine’s mind is consumed with, especially if there are more pressing issues. There’s a lot of potential in this book to veer towards “love triangle over everything” territory but I am holding out hope it won’t. (And fine, I love the cover, it’s so pretty!)

 

 

bright smoke cold fire
5. Bright Smoke, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge
I am here for everything Rosamund Hodge writes. I love her writing – it’s atmospheric and she always creates a unique world. Her retellings are some of my favourites (Cruel Beauty and Crimson Bound), and I hope this is another one I love!
One thought on “March TBR

Leave a Reply

