Les Misérables in MNL

The only other musical I’ve been to that I can remember is the Phantom of the Opera, and there is something to be said about watching performances in venues where people come dressed to the nines, and you just know you’re about to be immersed in some high culture. It’s kind of addicting.

Processed with VSCO with b1 preset

Musicals and other stage productions come to Manila more often nowadays, and I count myself lucky to live in a time where I can have the choice to watch them, regardless of whether or not I’m watching. Watching Les Misérables live is a different experience: hearing iconic songs sung live and accompanied by an orchestra is awesome. Red and Black and Do You Hear the People Sing? are already plenty memorable on their own but hearing it performed live made goosebumps break out on my skin. It was great.

Before the show I dragged my sister to have tea in one of the hotel’s cafes, and made her hold up the tickets against the huge Cosette poster.

DSC_0245

DSC_0233

DSC_0248

There were also a couple of art exhibitions throughout the hotel. One featured various interpretations of the Mona Lisa, and another featured paintings of various Disney movies, and Star Wars, by Rodel Gonzalez. He is apparently licensed by Disney, and I did like most of the paintings because they remind me of my childhood, but 350,000php (roughly $7,600) for a small Elsa painting?! Elsa?! (which is not in the picture, these had favourite paintings – Cinderella’s castle and Aladdin)

DSC_0237

The musical lasted about 3 hours, with a 5-minute break between the acts, and up until now the Les Miserablés soundtrack is still on repeat.

3 thoughts on “Les Misérables in MNL

  1. I saw Les Miz on broadway in February. It was the first time I had seen it, so I didn’t know the storyline. It was so beautiful and breathtaking. Wow, I loved it so much!

Leave a Reply

