Uncharted Genres: Poetry

ug

Yaaay! A new feature! Basically here I dive into genres heretofore I have not explored, because variety is the spice of life after all. First up: poetry (by Tennyson)!

I don’t think there’s denying Tennyson’s way with words, and while I think his works may not be for people who are just getting into poetry (like me), these are still great. I became familiar with Tennyson because one of my earlier Meg Cabot books, Avalon High, had incorporated The Lady of Shalott into the story, and I found it interesting, hence my decision to plunge into this like I did.

I think I need to have read more accessible poets, you know, before I dove into Tennyson. I saw on Goodreads that a good one to start with is Robert Frost, and I might do just that. While I didn’t like or care much for some of the poems, because I am not going to lie, I felt myself nod off at a few, I think there’s something in here for everyone. It’s just that some poems I like better than others, like The Lady of Shalott, and Demeter and Persephone. There is also the particularly heartbreaking, but so beautifully written, “On His Stillborn Son.”

DSC_0301

 

So how did my first foray into an unexplored genre go? Pretty well I’d say! I started this because I was hoping to expand more on works of literature I’m unfamiliar with, so this definitely hit its mark. First genre: check!

Leave a Reply

