Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

six of crowsSix of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (Six of Crows #1)
Published September 29, 2015 by Henry Holt and Co., 465 pp.
Summary:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

How goes it?

How, you guys???!?? How?? How do I start with everything I went through while reading this book??? I had feelings for this book you guys, so many feelings – feelings I want to hold on to because ugh, so lovely. I can’t remember the last time I felt this personally invested in a book and its characters. I’m not going to lie, I deferred finishing this because I felt for a moment there things were going south so fast no one was bound to make it out alive, but I did, thanks to Marguerite whom I buddy-read this with again!

Six of Crows follows Kaz Brekker and his band of misfits as they attempt to steal (more like kidnap someone) from the Fjerdan ice court. There’s a reward, one big enough for all of them to split, waiting at the end, but first they have to break into the Ice Court, get out alive, and not kill each other in the process.
One of the most intriguing things for me about this is the references as to how the whole Grisha trilogy ended. I didn’t really want to finish the series (because Mal was endgame, you could tell even in Shadow and Bone) but now I kind of want to, thanks to this book. Grisha diaspora? Yes, color me interested. (But Darkling you guys!)
Reading this was such an experience, and I loved every minute of it. So many feelings, thanks to the characters, who are some of my favourite now. This was a character-driven book – the different points of view for this one worked so well, and I liked reading in all of their voices. Everyone had their own reasons for going on this epic heist, and reading all about these reasons and how they came to be was great, heartbreaking at times, but great nevertheless. I think this is what Kaz has going for him, because he doesn’t look at your reasons, or where you’ve come from, only what you can bring and what you can contribute. Which in turn is balanced by Inej, whose thoughts and pearls of Suli wisdom I want to take and hang up on a wall somewhere. Jesper and Weylan may have started out as reluctant babysitter and ward but by the end they became reluctant friends as well.
Sidenote: Hello, is everyone in this cast out to get me to ship them because it’s honestly working.
Lastly: dear god help — Nina and Matthias. Every interaction they had, hostile or otherwise, I loved. In recent memory, the only other time I remember shipping something this hard was when I was active in a pop fandom, and I relish the feeling, I really do. I just hope in Crooked Kingdom they both come out alive.

My love for the characters aside, their stories, the heist, and just the world they move in, were all woven and written so, so well. With so many points of views and plot points going on it could easily overwhelm you if it weren’t handled the way Leigh Bardugo did – paced well, with just enough surprises and twists along the way.

I’m really looking forward to the sequel, and I know that Leigh Bardugo has released the first two chapters from Crooked Kingdom but I will abstain – I can wait until September (or was it August) for the whole book. /chants

TL;DR

 

 

5

5 stars– no 6, because every one of this crew deserves it. The hype is real, and well-deserved I think. If you’re looking for a new read – pick this one up!

Leave a Reply

