Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

heir of fireHeir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #3)
Published September 2, 2014 by Bloomsbury, 562 pp.
Summary:

Celaena Sardothien, heroine of the New York Times bestselling series, rises from the ashes to burn even brighter than before.

Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak-but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life-and her future-forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

In this USA Today bestselling third book in the New York Times bestselling series, Sarah J. Maas again delivers the epic fantasy, heart-stopping pace, and heady romance that have won her readers the world over.

How goes it?

Alright fine I admit it: Rowan is somewhat swoon-worthy. That thing with Maeve and then Celaena – there’s only so much skepticism my romantic-at-heart tendencies can take. Chaol and Dorian were hardly romantic heroes in this anyway, so this was overwhelmingly in Rowan’s favour. (That and his grand entrance in the 2nd chapter should be enough to entice people to give him a chance.)

Overall, this was a good addition to the series, as it finally sheds some light on Celaena’s past, lines are drawn, and people finally pick sides. I think. Also, I’m finally close to catching up! I didn’t think I’d be able to since I started this series last year, and by then there were already 3, soon to be 4, books released. But as they say, started from the bottom now we here.

Heir of Fire follows Celaena and her subsequent arrival in Wendlyn after Chaol sends her away in exchange for his return to Anielle. She wants answers from Maeve, but the Fae queen isn’t so quick to give them – prove herself first, then she gets her answers. Tasked in her training is Rowan, and so ensues months of training and animosity between the two of them. Meanwhile, back in Adarlan, Chaol and Dorian are barely speaking to each other, compounded by Chaol’s sudden reluctant truce with Aedion Ashryver, general in the King’s army, and cousin to Aelin. Evil plots continue brewing, and the king proves that there is nothing he won’t do to take over the world.

I think one of the reasons I like this series so much is that the action is so great, and that Celaena just keeps on growing and discovering more of herself, when she isn’t wallowing in grief. The last couple hundred pages are so great – Celaena’s past finally revealed, Dorian taking action and owning up to his magic, and Calaena gaining control over her magic. Sarah J. Maas does great endings TBH. 

The first part, the first half really since it’s divided into two parts, was slow. So many points of view – Sorscha, Chaol, and Dorian – that I didn’t care for and I found myself counting how many pages were left before we went back to Aelin and her training with Rowan. Manon was an interesting addition though, and with that the additional information of what else the king has up his sleeve. The second part, basically, is where everything finally happens, finally falls into place.

Is the setup in the first part worth it? Not really, I think. I could’ve done with less of Dorian and Sorscha’s romance, less of Chaol (when had I become so meh about Chaol?), but the parts with Aedion were nice. I enjoyed Rowan’s POVs as well, once they made an appearance. Another reason why I have inched towards Team Rowan is because he knows what it’s like to have lost someone and not have done something, and knows what it’s like to not have anyone left. I’m not fully onboard just yet, because I’m not sold so far – to be fair there wasn’t really much romance going on here, since they did just meet each other, and while they spent a good amount of time together they did it training. But between Chaol, Dorian, and Rowan – I’d choose Rowan.

Comparing this with Crown of Midnight I like this better by a small margin – I liked having a non-mopey Dorian, and Celaena finally embracing her Fae heritage and power. I don’t understand my feelings towards Chaol just yet, because I liked him enough in Throne of Glass, but now I just… don’t give two shits about him.

TL;DR

4

4, because of that first dragging half, but the second half made up for it, albeit juuuust barely by giving me that scene with Maeve and Rowan, and that battle with the Valg. At this point if you don’t like the series I don’t know what’ll convince you! 

8 thoughts on “Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Chaol had so much potential that was shattered in this book, but I loved Rowan’s character too much to really complain. I agree about the slow and confusing start to the book. The second half (and the ENDING /screams) really made this book a fast favorite for me, though. I’m glad you enjoyed it! I hope you like Queen of Shadows just as much if not more.

    • I agree, I think Chaol’s development as a character was stalled in this installment, but I don’t mind. I didn’t like him that much in the first place lol and it leaves the field wide open for Rowan. Thank you! I’m looking forward to catching up before Empire of Storms is released later this year! 😀

      • I’m not the only one swooning over Rowan, right? Because I liked Chaol in Crown of Midnight, but after this I was like, “Chaol who?” *heart eyes at Rowan*. My roommate and I have been going back and forth about whether Celaena really needs a man by her side, and I agree she is a self sufficient warrior, but I can’t help cheering for some romance.

      • EXACTLY! I mean Celaena can hold her own but I won’t say no if Rowan /is/ in the picture.
        I liked Chaol in Crown of Midnight as well, but I was Team Dorian for a bit TBH haha. I couldn’t quite believe he had moved on from Celaena so fast onto Sorscha but eh /shrugs all is well, Rowan is here haha.

      • Yeah, Sorscha was interesting, but her whole schtick would’ve been more believeable if she had come up earlier in the series. I think Dorian was just lonely with his BFFL on another continent and Chaol being such a butt. I don’t really think it’s gonna get much better in EoS, but with Celaena back in the neighborhood, hopefully things will pick up.

      • Have you had a chance to read Queen of Shadows yet, or is this your first time through the series? There’s finally some quality female characters interacting with Aelin again, and it’s the best thing since Nehemia. A potential romance also gives Chaol something to stick around for…just barely :3

      • It’s my first time! I’m hoping to pick up Queen of Shadows soon. I’m glad there’ll be more female characters interacting with Celaena; hopefully they’ll be in the series longer than Nehemia did. Good for Chaol! Hopefully this’ll help me have warm feelings towards him again, haha.

Leave a Reply

