May Wrap-Up

Hello everyone! May has ended and here where I am, the rainy season has set in. It’s still kind of hot, but at least I have rainy days to look forward to.

As usual, I set my TBR at a comfortable 7 books (including my requisite classic and uncharted genre ones, the latter of which I have yet to post, hah) – for the first time since January I somehow managed to complete the TBR!

avZf09U

 

Reviews

DSC_0383

For May I managed to review 9 books, which is a pretty healthy mix of the start to a new series….

  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – finally, a book where I can get behind the hype! Multiple POVs work so well with this one, and you get to know the characters and their motivations through it, not just view other relationships through another lens. Much wow, highly recommend.
  • The Falconer by Elizabeth May – if there is one word to describe this book, it would be mash-up. So many genres in one book, but at least it’s interesting! The fae lore could be explored a bit more, but I think that’ll be tackled in the next book.
  • The Midnight Sea by Kat Ross – part-historical fiction, part-fantasy, this is one of my pleasant surprises for the month. This is based on Western Asian history, definitely not a setting you see often! Or at least, I don’t see often.

standalones…

  • The Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine – a Snow White retelling; this was just okay, but I find the universe it’s set in interesting, so I’d probably read the next one. This is the first of a series of standalone books set in the same universe.
  • The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi – an anticipated 2016 read! But it didn’t quite meet my expectations, just somehow touched them? Beautiful writing and awesome world-building, but plot was a bit lacking for me. This is another standalone in a series of books set in the same universe, and because the world-building is A+ I’m looking forward to the next one.
  • Dreamology by Lucy Keating – another sort-of foray into contemporary YA, but still with a mix of fantasy. Not my favorite, because the actions of some of the characters don’t sit well with me, but if you’re looking for a light, fluffy, dreams-come-true kind of read, and can look past what the characters did so they can be together, this one will do it, I think!

and a sequel!

  • Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas – well, Rowan certainly doesn’t make a good first impression, but at least he got his act together when Aelin really needed it. Finally almost caught up with this series, just the Queen of Shadows to go!

I also read We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson, whose Merricat is one of my favorite narrators ever, and a DRC, A Thousand Salt Kisses by Josie Demuth.

Digital Review Copies

 

I trawled through NetGalley for books I could add to my TBR (and maybe request too), and I ended up getting approved for The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse (A+ cover), and Unseen Messages by Pepper Winters. The former is a Peter Pan retelling, and the latter is a survival-type of contemporary romance. Excited to start reading these!

Upcoming

I have a book tag to fulfill (the Alphabet Book Tag), and I’ve yet to post my Uncharted Genre for May, so I’ll get right to that! I was actually a bit thrown off my mojo during May, because for one, our internet and landline conked out at the end of April and only got fixed around the 3rd week of May. At least it’s fixed now!

Leave a Reply

