June TBR

It’s halfway through the year, I can’t believe it! At least we’re closer to the release of some of the books I’ve been looking forward to this year. For the meantime, this month’s TBR features books that have been in my TBR pile a few months too long, a series y’all convinced me I should give a fair chance to, and a book that apparently is quite good but under the radar!
the bird and the sword
  • The Bird and the Sword by Amy Harmon

Swallow, Daughter, pull them in, those words that sit upon your lips. Lock them deep inside your soul, hide them ‘til they’ve time to grow. Close your mouth upon the power, curse not, cure not, ‘til the hour. You won’t speak and you won’t tell, you won’t call on heav’n or hell. You will learn and you will thrive. Silence, Daughter. Stay alive.

The day my mother was killed, she told my father I wouldn’t speak again, and she told him if I died, he would die too. Then she predicted the king would trade his soul and lose his son to the sky.

My father has a claim to the throne, and he is waiting in the shadows for all of my mother’s words to come to pass. He wants desperately to be king, and I just want to be free.

But freedom will require escape, and I’m a prisoner of my mother’s curse and my father’s greed. I can’t speak or make a sound, and I can’t wield a sword or beguile a king. In a land purged of enchantment, love might be the only magic left, and who could ever love . . . a bird?

I found out about The Bird and the Sword through Mariana Zapata’s readers’ group. I can’t remember the thread, but it got mentioned repeatedly, and I got intrigued! Also, it looks like another book that has a focus on language as a form of power (literally, and figuratively) – hopefully I’ll like this one much, much more than the other one I read earlier this year.

a court of thorns and roses
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Honestly I’m reading this so I can read A Court of Mist and Fury, which has gotten overwhelmingly positive reviews from my friends on Goodreads. I tried to read this last year but I lost interest early in the book, around the part where Feyre is in Tamlin’s abode. But since apparently ACOMAF is better, I’ll give this series another go.
these broken stars
  • These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
I like to think books set in a fantasy world in outer space aren’t really that different from the fantasy books I read that are set on the ground, but somehow I find it much harder to envision it. These Broken Stars have good reviews though, so fingers crossed for this one!
ruined
  • Ruined by Amy Tintera
Yes! More assassin ladies! More royalty! More people-who-are-persecuted-just-for-existing plot lines! Let’s see if Ruined has something to differentiate itself from similar and familiar books and stories.
front lines
  • Front Lines by Michael Grant
YA historical fiction set in World War II! I know there’s been a slew of these lately (I think) but I picked this one up since its premise features an America where ladies are now subject to drafting and eligible for service in the war. I’m looking forward to reading this; give me life, book!
I’m also currently reading Penny Reid’s Grin and Beard It, the second installment of the Winston Brothers series, and I love the banter. Have you guys read any of these books?
Leave a Reply

