First Lines Fridays: 17 June 2016

Hello you guys! Starting today I’ll be doing First Lines Fridays, whose explanation I will take from the host:

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first
  • Finally… reveal the book!

 

So without further ado…………

Nothing about this room was real. If this were a party at home, the music would draw your eye to human musicians in the corner.


 

these broken stars

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Luxury spaceliner Icarus suddenly plummets from hyperspace into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive – alone. Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a cynical war hero. Both journey across the eerie deserted terrain for help. Everything changes when they uncover the truth.

I have had all 3 books since January? Or February of this year, but my friend who read this before I got the books apparently had a lot of feelings, and ever since then I’ve been putting off reading this, haha. But since I found a reading buddy, I started this today! I’m only around 150 pages in but Tarver is shaping up to be the book boyfriend I never knew I wanted; boy has a notebook full of poetry as he navigates the nameless planet he and Lilac find themselves stranded on.

I’ve also finished The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse, and am planning to start Persuasion this weekend.

What else are you guys reading?

Leave a Reply

