NY Times By the Book Tag

Hello everyone! I hope you’re all having a happy Monday so far 😀 So today I have the NY Times By the Book Tag, which has a bunch of great questions (like “What one book would you require the President to read?”). I was tagged by Diana @ Night Train Books, who has really interesting answers in her post. The tag was created by the booktuber Marie Berg so have a look at her original video.



What book is on your nightstand now?

The books on my nightstand are what’s left of my June TBR – Persuasion by Jane Austen, These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner, and A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas! I’ve started These Broken Stars and so far I really like it.

DSC_0408

What was the last truly great book you’ve read?
I would have to say Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. I don’t think I’ve encountered an ending quite like that so far, and the book reawakened fangirl feelings in me; I’m really looking forward to Crooked Kingdom later this year.

If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?
I would probably go with Anne Brontë – to ask if she had any other novels aside from the two that were published before her untimely death (or if she had any other novels planned). I like her writing best out of all three Brontë sisters and would love to read more from her.

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?
I think most people would be surprised the number of non-fiction, academic books on my shelf, because I know I am. Until I brought them all out of boxes earlier this year I hadn’t realized how much we’ve been required to read so far.

How do you organize your personal library?
Right now, I don’t have a bookshelf yet for my room! I’m still in the process of setting it up, and only have a single shelf built in, lol. What’s on it right now are favorites, so it changes as I take out books that have fallen out of favor. When I do get a proper bookshelf though, I’ll probably organize it by series/author.

DSC_0412
The Infinite photobook is a makeshift bookend lol

What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet?
The Clash of Civilizations by Samuel P. Huntington. The theory behind it is interesting, and it’s also a “must read” for people who take my course, but as is typical of me, I haven’t read it (yet).

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t?
Ack, A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab. It’s right up my alley genre-wise, and somehow even reminds me of Six of Crows, but it just didn’t click with me. I should probably re-read it, because I feel like I missed something.

What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?
I read a little bit of everything tbh, but I gravitate towards fantasy and romance. I steer clear of most contemporary YA stuff though – maybe because I don’t really relate to the characters? (Yes because you can relate with girls who run around saving kingdoms and shooting arrows!)

If you could require the President to read one book, what would it be?
If they haven’t, maybe Imagined Communities by Benedict Anderson? It deals with the formation of a “nation”, and how people who have never even seen each other consider themselves part of the same “community”. This doesn’t just apply to nationalities – this is also applicable for when you’re in a fandom spanning countries and continents, or in an online community, etc.

What do you plan to read next?
I’m saving A Court of Thorns and Roses until the end of this month, so I’ll get around Persuasion first to cross off my one-classic-a-month quota.


Congratulations you’re at the end!

And if you would like to do this, please go ahead! 🙂 Would love to read the answers you have to the questions posed by this tag.

Also, The Rose and the Dagger arrived last Friday, and now I don’t know what to do – actually I do, ’cause now I’m reading three books simultaneously HAH!

10 thoughts on “NY Times By the Book Tag

  1. Yep, so many books you mentioned are still on my TBR *sighs*.
    I have yet to read A Darker Shade of Magic and I’m really excited for it, I hope I’ll like it.
    And I totally get you on not relating much to contemporary YA!

Leave a Reply

