Classic of the Month ft. Persuasion

cotm

“A man does not recover from such a devotion of the heart to such a woman! He ought not; he does not.”

My first Jane Austen novel! I haven’t read a lot of second chance romances, because I know most of the time the history isn’t pretty, but Persuasion may yet change my mind. I think this is one of her lesser known works, when of course put beside Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility, but I loved this. This is a classic romance where I loved both the hero and heroine, and both have said things that are probably some of my favorite romantic quotes now.

Persuasion, along with Northanger Abbey, is the last of Jane Austen’s published works before she died in 1817. Due to her ailing health, the novel isn’t as polished as her others, though it does have a unique characteristic: the heroine isn’t as young as her previous ones. This is apparently in tribute to other women in her life who have “lost their chance in life and would never enjoy a second spring.”

DSC_0401

I loved Persuasion! I think it was a good idea to pick this up as my first Jane Austen read, since it is apparently shorter, and it definitely suits my taste as a romantic.

Wentworth, having been rejected by Anne seven years ago, is understandably still harboring ill feelings, and proceeds to entertain Louisa Musgrove, an acquaintance of Anne through her sister Mary. Anne doesn’t do much to approach Wentworth – girlfriend still has feelings for him – and whenever she knows she has to face him, it takes a great deal of mental preparation on her part.

DSC_0392

 

I think one of the things I loved most about this is how Jane Austen portrayed Anne and her thoughts. She’s often taken advantage of – being called to take of her sister, then her nephews, constantly being belittled – but she isn’t downtrodden. She’s clever, people aside from her family like her, and knows when to hold back and when to let loose some of her snark. I love Anne as a heroine, basically.

“When pain is over, the remembrance of it often becomes a pleasure.”

If you guys know of any similar books/novels, let me know! 😀 So far I’ve really been enjoying reading classics; I’m glad I started reading them regularly this year. Also, thank you for the recent nominations, you guys! I’m putting them up slowly, haha.

4 thoughts on “Classic of the Month ft. Persuasion

  1. I really liked Persuasion and the 2007 movie is great!
    My favourite novel of Austen is Pride and Prejudice by far. You should definitely read it!
    Darcy Team haha

Leave a Reply

