June Wrap Up + Upcoming Stuff (◡‿◡✿)

It’s July you guys! But before I fully jump into a new month, here’s my June Wrap Up. Also I got Sorted into my Ilvermorny house earlier this week – I’m pretty happy with the house I got!

DSC_0427

Reviews

I think I can clearly divide my books into two clear categories this month.
There are ones that did not quite hit the mark…
  • Ruined by Amy Tintera – I was promised a girl hellbent on revenge for her people, but unfortunately I got something different. Everything is kind of vague, and basically, you’ve read this book before. Would I read the sequel? Probably? Maybe? Let’s see, haha.
  • The Neverland Wars by Audrey Greathouse – A Peter Pan retelling with should’ve, would’ve, and could’ve! A lot of loose ends, unanswered questions, and an abrupt ending had me scratching my head once I finished this. It was such a great premise too!
  • Unseen Messages by Pepper Winters – Contemporary romance with a pretty big twist. If you’re into love at first sight taken to the next level, give this a shot. I found this to have a lot of filler though, and I didn’t quite connect with the hero and heroine.
And some that have definitely hit the bulls eye!
  • Front Lines by Michael Grant – If you want something different from your usual YA, maybe give Front Lines by Michael Grant a spin! 5 different girls with each of their own stories, and their paths cross on the front lines of World War II. I’m already so excited for the sequel that’s coming out in 2017 ;_____;
  • The Bird and The Sword by Amy Harmon – Mature but still definitely fits within YA boundaries. A great fantasy standalone, so this is good if you want something that ties up everything neatly in one book.
  • These Broken Stars by Amy Kaufman and Meagan Spooner – The Titanic in space! I don’t know why they decided to name the ship Icarus, since the father is apparently proficient in Greek mythology, but they did, so… Lilac and Tarver have a decidedly happier ending than Jack and Rose though.

DRC

girl in the shadows
I got a DRC for Girl in the Shadows by Gwenda Bonds! Gorgeous cover; so bright and eye-catching, and the summary is intriguing too!

 

Book Tags

It’s so much fun filling out book tags – it’s like an updated slam book, and I loved filling those out when I was younger. I did a couple this month: the Alphabet Book Tag and the NY Times By the Book Tag. If you’d like to answer them as well, please go ahead!

Nominations

I got a couple of nominations this June, so thanks you guys! ❤️ One of them, the Liebster Award, is up and if you’d like to answer the questions I have, feel free to do so ❤️

ETC.

  • My monthly quota for classics has been fulfilled: Persuasion is up! If you know of books with similar themes (specifically second chance romances), hit me with recommendations!
  • Have a look at my first couple of First Lines Fridays posts!
  • I’ll also be doing a new monthly feature – That’s What He Said Thursdays 😀 Here I’ll be quoting something a hero has said to the heroine – it doesn’t even have to be romantic, but it cannot be a description of the guy.
  • Also, cover reveal for The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova! The cover illustration is gorgeous; the artist is different from her Air Awakens series, but ugh, still A+ illustrated covers.
And if y’all are wondering what I got for Ilvermorny, I got Sorted into Horned Serpent. (If you’re Ravenclaw as well, high five pls!)
Leave a Reply

