July TBR!

July is here! And with it comes my new TBR. It seems my July has a recurring theme – resolution. Which is to finish books I’ve picked up but never finished, or to read books that have been sitting on my shelf without being read.

stolen songbird

Stolen Songbird by Danielle Jensen

For five centuries, a witch’s curse has bound the trolls to their city beneath the mountain. When Cécile de Troyes is kidnapped and taken beneath the mountain, she realises that the trolls are relying on her to break the curse.

Cécile has only one thing on her mind: escape. But the trolls are clever, fast, and inhumanly strong. She will have to bide her time…

But the more time she spends with the trolls, the more she understands their plight. There is a rebellion brewing. And she just might be the one the trolls were looking for…

Stolen Songbird comes from a defunct publisher’s imprint, but thankfully the series has lived on in the core publishing company! If I see any of the two sequels in my local bookstore I’ll snap them up. I was actually really surprised to see this book being sold here, but it’s a happy surprise. Here for the trolls – a different sort of character in my YA!

magonia

Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

I bought this late last year, and this is honestly an impulse buy. You know those ones – the kind that when you go into a bookstore, and you just can’t leave without buying a book? No matter what it is? Mildy interesting premise? Sure, sign me up. That’s it – that was my Magonia buying experience. To be fair, I actually found the summary interesting before I went into the store, but I wasn’t planning on buying it that particular time.

first year

First Year by Rachel Carter

For some reason I started this, then just never got around to actually finishing First Year. So to clear my “Currently Reading” list in Goodreads (I have 7 right now – it’s all lies, lmao) I am resolving to finish this book this July!

the perilous sea

The Perilous Sea by Sherry Thomas

The Burning Sky was one of my favorite reads last year, and maybe as you guys can tell, I have issues with picking up sequels of books I love. Maybe I’m afraid I won’t like it as much as the first? Maybe I won’t be able to handle the feels the book will give me? Either way, The Perilous Sea has been sitting on my TBR for a while now and it’s about time I give myself and this series closure.

queen of shadows

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

July will be the time to actually, truly catch up with Throne of Glass. I started ToG last year thinking, man I won’t be able to catch up with this series, because it was already three books in with a fourth to come out soon. Thank goodness I have been proving myself wrong, one book at a time.

Here’s to another month of reading guys! 😀

7 thoughts on “July TBR!

  1. Queen of Shadows was the best in the series so far for me. I’m so excited for Empire of the Storms and it’s great that you’ve caught up with the series 😀

  2. In my opinion, Queen of Shadows is the best book of the TOG series so far! Also, I recently read the Stolen Songbird in one sitting! so you can imagine how much I loved it. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did! Can’t wait to hear your thughts.
    Just discovered your blog and loved it x

Leave a Reply

