Uncharted Genres ft. Bossypants

ug

memoirs : a written account in which someone (such as a famous performer or politician) describes past experiences

Fair enough! I found Bossypants in our bookshelf at home just in time, because I was looking for my June Uncharted Genre, and was eyeing the Tina Fey book.

DSC_0433

(Is it still considered a memoir even if the person writing it isn’t famous or well-known? If it’s not, what is it? An autobiography?)

Browsing the table of contents it looked liked it covered a lot of topics, and I wondered how it would all tie together. Turns out, this follows Tina as she grows up, and things she encounters and learns along the way.

Some of the chapters that stood out to me are the ones where she has revelations about how she viewed queer folk (kind of like token characters – they’re there for when you need a girl friday or for amusement, but they can’t have real feelings), her managerial style (I would read the book again just for that chapter, haha), and the revelation that no matter how things seem to be not going your way, it’ll all turn out alright in the end.

There were some laugh out loud moments, and I feel like Tina Fey’s humor translates well on paper. It’s dry, a bit sarcastic, and she seems like she can make a joke out of everything.

DSC_0442

Also, I really like what she said when “faced with sexism or ageism or lookism or even aggressive Buddhism, ask yourself the following question: Is this person between me and what I want to do? If not, ignore it and move on. Channel the energy otherwise spent agitating over it into doing something productive. If yes, don’t waste energy trying to educate and change opinions – things will change organically when you’re the boss.

Admittedly it’s a very optimistic view of things, but it’s career motivation I suppose. Tina Fey’s book is page turner though, and it was a good pick for a memoir.


In other news, I just finished Stolen Songbird!!!! Multiple exclamations necessary, that ending is unacceptable I just – anyway, I am regretting reading this without the sequels, but I loved it! I love the world Danielle Jensen has created.

4 thoughts on “Uncharted Genres ft. Bossypants

  1. I really want to pick this up and Yes Please by Amy Poehler, I here their both funny and really interesting. I don’t read many memoirs or non-fiction books so I want to change that and expand my reading styles a little more. Also Tina Fey is SO funny, I love her.

    • I saw your review! I agree – the chapter on 30 Rock would’ve been more funny if I had watched the series (or even SNL for that matter, haha) but overall I really liked the book.

      Looking forward to your review if you ever read it! 😀

Leave a Reply

