First Lines Fridays: 5 August 2016

How has your week been everyone? πŸ˜€ I have the flu and I can’t taste anything but it’s all cool!

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first
  • Finally… reveal the book!

 

If ever, this will be my first magical realism book! It has LGBTQ themes as well, so I’m quite excited to read this one.

As far as he knew, she had come from the water. But even about that, he couldn’t be sure.
It didn’t matter how many nights they’d met on the untilled land between their houses; the last farm didn’t rotate its crops, and stripped the soil until nothing but wild grasses would grow.

when the moon was ours

When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore

When the Moon Was Ours follows two characters through a story that has multicultural elements and magical realism, but also has central LGBT themesβ€”a transgender boy, the best friend he’s falling in love with, and both of them deciding how they want to define themselves.

To everyone who knows them, best friends Miel and Sam are as strange as they are inseparable. Roses grow out of Miel’s wrist, and rumors say that she spilled out of a water tower when she was five. Sam is known for the moons he paints and hangs in the trees, and for how little anyone knows about his life before he and his mother moved to town.

But as odd as everyone considers Miel and Sam, even they stay away from the Bonner girls, four beautiful sisters rumored to be witches. Now they want the roses that grow from Miel’s skin, convinced that their scent can make anyone fall in love. And they’re willing to use every secret Miel has fought to protect to make sure she gives them up.

Is the cover not gorgeous?! It’s so pretty. And that summary!! I was happily surprised I got approved for this book (actually this is me every time I ever get approved for anything, haha). The genres for this book are ones I haven’t read or explored yet, so I’m looking forward to reading this in the coming months.

What upcoming books are you guys excited to read? πŸ˜€

6 thoughts on “First Lines Fridays: 5 August 2016

  1. I am sorry to hear you are sick, Nina. I hope you are feeling better soon. I think everyone in my house is feeling a bit off kilter today since we were up late watching the Olympics. I get up way too early for staying up late anymore to be a good idea. 😦 A gorgeous cover! I really like the sound of this one. I will have to add it to my wish list.

Leave a Reply

