Review | Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews

sweep in peaceSweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews (The Innkeeper Chronicles #2)
Published November 13, 2015 by NYLA, 315 pp.
Summary:

Dina DeMille doesn’t run your typical Bed and Breakfast. Her inn defies laws of physics, her fluffy dog is secretly a monster, and the only paying guest is a former Galactic tyrant with a price on her head. But the inn needs guests to thrive, and guests have been scarce, so when an Arbitrator shows up at Dina’s door and asks her to host a peace summit between three warring species, she jumps on the chance.

Unfortunately, for Dina, keeping the peace between Space Vampires, the Hope-Crushing Horde, and the devious Merchants of Baha-char is much easier said than done. On top of keeping her guests from murdering each other, she must find a chef, remodel the inn…and risk everything, even her life, to save the man she might fall in love with. But then it’s all in the day’s work for an Innkeeper…


Now I remember why I didn’t want to read Sweep in Peace last year. It’s because if the current trend continues we’ll be getting the next book in 2017. Basically, what will I do until then?? What Ilona Andrews book should I read in the meantime??

If you’ve read Clean Sweep, I think you’ll find this a wee bit predictable but it definitely does not diminish the fun of reading this. My only question is, Dina, why won’t you give Armand a chance??

Sweep in Peace takes place a couple of months after the events of Clean Sweep, and once again Dina is in need of guests. If she were to have guests, she’d need them to either be really powerful or to have a big enough number so as to sustain the inn and its magic. With eerily great timing, an Arbitrator comes knocking on Dina’s door, and with him comes an irresistible proposal: host an intergalactic peace summit between 3 warring factions. Dina does spend some time thinking about it, but she really needs the guests, the money, and the potential to add to her inn’s reputation. But it isn’t just the 3 factions that are playing mind games, as Dina will find out, and maybe the cost for hosting this peace summit is more than she can handle.

So much fun!! I love reading in Dina’s POV because I think she’s so droll and dry, and nothing the guests do fazes her. She’s probably one of my favorite heroines because she won’t take shit from anyone, no matter who they are, and she remains so calm throughout everything that happens. I also like that these books can stand on their own, plot-wise. There’s an overarching story, of course, but Sweep in Peace and Clean Sweep have pretty distinct stories on their own.

Everything reads pretty straightforward for the most part, so the twists come at the end, and I loved them. Even if the plot seems simple (basically it’s peace summit at inn with 3 warring alien races. Shenanigans ensue.) it’s how it was executed that makes it so great. The only issue I have is that I didn’t agree with how some characters went about achieving their goals, but I’ll get over that. What matters is that I have one more Ilona Andrews book in my favorites, and I’m reminded as to why I had a pretty long urban fantasy phase.

I liked that Dina takes charge of things once everyone is in the inn, and the way she weaves through everyone and their requests is what makes this book so entertaining. For war-waging peoples, the Holy Anocracy, the Merchants, and the Hope-Crushing Horde sure do have a lot of requests.

“She wishes to obtain a small predator.”
“A small predator?”
“Yes.” Nuan Ara nodded. “The silent, stealthy, vicious killer that prowls by night and mercilessly murders its victims for food and pleasure.”
Um… What? “And she believes she can find this predator here?”
Nuan Ara nodded. “She has seen the images. They have glowing eyes and razor claws and are renowned for their cruelty.”

Hint: it’s a cat. It’s Grumpy Cat.

Also Orro is such a fun (can you count how many times I’ve used the word “fun” in this?) addition to Dina’s inn’s residents.

“Very well. Like a primitive savage who sets out to tame the wilderness armed with nothing but a knife and his indomitable will, I will persevere. I will wrestle victory from the greedy jaws of defeat. I shall rise like a bird of prey upon the current of the wind, my talons raised for the kill, and I shall strike true.”

There’s little romance in this, because Sean is still kind of AWOL and DINA WON’T GIVE ARLAND A CHANCE! Arland is ready, willing, and able and she goes after Sean! I can’t believe it. I, on the other hand, want an Arland.

What else is there to say about Sweep in Peace? It’s zippy, entertaining, and a great sequel to Clean Sweep. I’m resisting the urge to read the free serial of the following book on the author’s website but I don’t know how long I’ll be able to stay away.

TL;DR

4

Pick this up and make sure you have no work to be done. Or just be willing to ignore everything else that does need to be done, because you really won’t be able to put down Sweep in Peace.

Plot/Story: ✮✮✮✮☆
This would be a 3 if it weren’t executed the way it was.

Characters: ✮✮✮✮☆
MINUS ONE because of George. I’m hoping I’ll get more insight if I read the other books he was in, but as it is, I didn’t like how he went about getting his way because there was so much collateral damage.

Romance: ✮✮✮☆☆
GIVE ARLAND A CHANCE. ALL HE ASKS IS YOU GIVE HIM A CHANCE, DINA!

6 thoughts on “Review | Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews

  1. You make me want to drop everything and read this series. 🙂 This sounds like so much fun. I’ve read a few Ilona Andrews’ books and really enjoyed them. I broke down and bought a copy of Clean Sweep a couple months ago because I just had to have it.

Leave a Reply

