The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

I was tagged by Vivian @ Inked In Pages and Monique @ That Wild Soul. Be sure to check out their posts! I added a few books to my TBR thanks to their answers heh.

This tag was created by Chami @ ReadLikeWildFire and Ely @ Ely Jayne on YouTube. It’s where we look back at (and freak out over) the books we’ve read during the past six months.


 

BEST BOOK YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2016

six of crowsSix of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows is probably my favorite book so far this year. My review probably didn’t do enough justice as to how much I loved this book, but I loved the setting, the writing, and most of all the characters. I’m rooting for a happy ending for everyone, although I have a feeling it won’t be that way…

Honestly I’m just happy that the hype was real and well-deserved. This, along with Uprooted by Naomi Novik, is a book I’d enthusiastically recommend to anyone.


BEST SEQUEL YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2016heir of fire

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

This was a toss-up between Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers and Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas, but I went with Sarah J. Maas because it finally helped me make up my mind about Chaol. Before I read Heir of Fire I already kind of accepted that Chaol might be a permanent fixture in Celaena’s love life, but bless Heir of Fire and it brought me Rowan. Even if he was a huge asswipe for most part of the novel. Which is why I also need to get along and read Queen of Shadows.

My review here!


NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN’T READ YET, BUT WANT TO

the rose and the daggerThe Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

You know the feeling of not wanting to pick up a sequel because you like the first book a lot? And maybe, just maybe, the sequel won’t be as good, or you won’t like it as much as you did the first book? This is me and The Rose and the Dagger.

It also didn’t help that my copies got lost on their way to me, and because it takes close to a month for books to get to me anyway it took even longer for me to contact Book Depository and inquire as to “Where the frick are my The Rose and the Dagger books??” In a much more polite way of course.


MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND HALF OF THE YEARthe fate of the tearling

The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

WHY!! SO HARD TO CHOOSE! I’ll have to go with The Fate of the Tearling though. After the way the Invasion of the Tearling ended I’ve been twiddling my thumbs waiting for the final book. And with the trajectory of the series I’m hoping Fate is going to end the series with a bang. I didn’t think I’d like this series that much but it’s only gotten better, especially with the Invasion.

My reviews here for The Queen of the Tearling, and here for the Invasion of the Tearling.


BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT


sword and verse
Sword and Verse
by Kathy McMillan

I think this is the only book this year to actually make me a bit mad. Or upset. If you read the summary it sounds so awesome – language as a tool to free the people! At least, that’s how I understood it. In a way, it was like that, but it was overshadowed and pushed aside by a lackluster romance I didn’t really get. I was so excited to read this too!

I’d show you guys my notes but I’m trying to keep it clean, haha. Please make do with my review instead.

 


BIGGEST SURPRISE


Front Lines
by Michael Grantfront lines

This is once again one of my impulse buys, and once again it is because of the striking cover. I like all the POVs in this book, and it’s an interesting spin on historical fiction! I think Michael Grant managed to portray the girls well, and how, hypothetically, they would be treated if ever they were drafted into active duty.

My thoughts here!

 


FAVOURITE NEW AUTHOR (DEBUT OR NEW TO YOU)

Roshani Chokshi! I love how she writes, despite my less-than-enthusiastic review of The Star-Touched Queen. I’ve read the excerpt of her next book in the Star-Touched Queen universe and I’m liking it a lot.


NEWEST FICTIONAL CRUSH

Aaaahhh shit, lol. Maybe errrr this is between Rhysand and Rowan but….. I’ll go with Rowan for now.


NEWEST FAVOURITE CHARACTER

nina zenikFor now it’d probably be Nina Zenik from Six of Crows (a close second would be Kelsea Glynn from The Queen of the Tearling series) since everything she says I go, “Same.”

Also, because I want a Matthias. (This is part of the art made by Kevin Wada on Tumblr!!!)


BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY

Is it bad that I haven’t really cried over a book this year? Maybe it’s because I do my best to stay away from potential tearjerkers….

 


BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPYForbiddenWish_BOM.indd

The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury

Such a nice retelling of Aladdin! I remember feeling really satisfied after reading this, and now that I’ve come across it again I’ll have to read it again soon. I loved Zahra and how she was in charge (honestly Aladdin was beta here imo and I loved it. The females in this book took charge.)

See my review here 😀

 


FAVOURITE BOOK TO FILM ADAPTATION

This year? None so far. I only remember watching The Fifth Wave and the movie wasn’t great. I heard the book was better, and the movie skipped over a lot of parts. I’ve plans to read the book but not in the near future!


FAVOURITE POST YOU HAVE DONE THIS YEAR

I’m going to cheat and say all the book tags I’ve done! I think I keep to myself most of the time and the tags allow me to share things about myself with everyone.


MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU’VE BOUGHT THIS YEAR
rebel of the sands

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

GOLD AND DARK BLUE! GOLD AND TURQUOISE! One of my absolute favorite covers ever. I quite liked the story too, though the reviews are mixed.

This is wild west meets desert meets jinn so if you’re wondering how in the world that’ll fare have a gander at my review.

 

 


WHAT BOOK DO YOU NEED TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR

Probably all the TBR books I’ve listed but never really got around to reading. Which are a lot. I’m behind by 5 books on my Reading Challenge over at Goodreads but I’m not stressing over it.


I nominate:

And anyone else who wants to do this fun tag! This made me browse my handy-dandy spreadsheet for books, haha. As always, no pressure! 😀

By the way I’m struggling through Ice Like Fire, I’m not feeling as…. engaged? Invested? As I was when I was reading Snow Like Ashes, but one of these days I’ll buckle down and read it. Reading sprints come through please!

What are you guys reading nowadays??

26 thoughts on “The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag

  1. Some great books here! I agree with Six of Crows probably being the best book I’ve read so far too. Currently I’m reading Outlander to see what all the hype is about.
    I’m curious, you wrote that you keep a spreadsheet for your books. What do you use it for or what do you write on it?

    • I do! I started earlier this year, since there are some books I don’t keep on Goodreads, and the spreadsheet from.. BookRiot I think?? was a great way to keep track. It looks like this: http://imgur.com/a/jio15 I keep it on Drive and I edit it whenever I start or end a book 🙂 It’s a great tool to keep track of what genres I read most, how many pages I’ve read, etc 😀

  2. Thank you so much for nominating me! I’ll definitely do this tag.

    Have to admit that I haven’t been able to finish Six of Crows 🙈 Maybe I should start continue reading because I know is in love with the book.

    And yessss for Rowan! He’s definitely on my top 5 book boyfriend list 😀

  3. I could use a big chunk of time to just read, read, read, read. Lately my reading has really suffered.

    I really enjoyed reading your answers to this meme, Nina. You read the best sounding books. Six Crows has been on my radar since before it came out. I am glad it is as good as it sounds. I’ve also had my eye on The Wrath and the Dawn, which I’ve heard is good. Now I have a sequel to look forward to as well? I hope you do like The Rose and the Dagger when you get to it.

    Rebel of the Sands does have a beautiful cover–I’ve heard mixed reviews of that one, but it’s another one I am curious about.

    So sad about Sword and Verse as that is another one that sounds so good to me . . .

    • Thank you Wendy!! Same, my reading lately is suffering since I’m wiped once I get home, so I do my best to read on breaks while at work but it’s so hard to start books and not finish them in one sitting 😅 I hope you like The Wrath and the Dawn! It’s more romance than anything, but I think The Rose and the Dagger make up for the lack of action in the first one.
      Haha Sword and Verse is one of those books that taught me to temper my expectations for books, so there’s that at least!

  4. All of these books are either on my top to-read or my top favorite… lol so many books, so little time to read them. I’m really pumped to read the Star-touched Queen. As for choosing between Rhys and Rowan… it’s literally impossible. I kind of just want to mash them together so I don’t have to choose. Why is Sarah so good at writing amazing characters?!?

    • Right??? My theme song for her might be Hate That I Love You So because so far the trend with me has been me consistently liking (and loving) her books, like I can’t quite believe it.

      I hope you like the Star-touched Queen! Thank you for stopping by 🙂

  5. Heir of Fire and Six of Crows? I love Bardugo and Maas’s books so much. Clearly we need to be best friends because my picks for this tag were super similar! Sword and Verse was… pretty bad. We have similar taste in books looks like 🙂

    • Ah I haven’t resumed reading the Shadow and Bone series, but I’m seriously considering doing so!! Six of Crows gives me much hope about the series, haha.

      Also right?? Ever since I found out about SJMaas’ books last year and loved them I couldn’t believe I could like an author’s books so consistently?

      And you’ve read Sword and Verse! Haven’t encountered anyone else who has, haha (bless them)

Leave a Reply

