Farewell to August, Random Life Updates™, ETC. (ノ^∇^)ノ゚

Well would you look at that! I read more books than I expected, even if most of them aren’t from my TBR…. *looks around shiftily* With the end of August I’ll once again pretend we have fall here, even if all the weather does until the end of the year is alternate between raining cats and dogs to scorching summer heat.

DSC_1545

Reviews

  • Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley – Sensory overload in a book, but quite original! I liked Aza Ray enough, but it was Jason who made this book for me. Aza Ray doesn’t quite have her voice yet, and has not come into her own in Magonia but I’m expecting her character to develop in the sequel.
  • Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet by Charlie N. Holmberg – I love this – Charlie Holmberg’s writing is atmospheric, almost lyrical, and that twist in the end! Even if it was pretty slow at first, the writing and the ending makes me want to check out her other books. There’s also magical baked goods in this, if you like that kind of thing
  • Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews – The Innkeeper Chronicles is one urban fantasy/paranormal series that I have managed to keep up with, and I’m glad Sweep in Peace is just as fun as Clean Sweep. I gave in: I read the One Fell Sweep serial on their site.
  • Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch – Noooo noooo *moans dramatically* book why? Book where did I go wrong? Did I not love Theron enough? Did I not express my appreciation for Meira and her skills as a warrior? This isn’t even second-book syndrome, it’s like an orange to the apple that was Snow Like Ashes.
  • Road-Tripped by Nicole Archer – Romantic comedy with a serious note, but still quite fun and full of humor! This is the debut book of Nicole Archer, and while I had a few gripes, I still enjoyed this. You’d enjoy Road-Tripped if contemporary romance is your thing.
  • Every Falling Star by Sungju Lee and Susan McClelland – A North Korean memoir aimed at younger audiences. This takes you through Sungju’s childhood of privilege as a son raised in Pyongyang, to his family’s eventual banishment to the hinterlands of the country. A good book to start reading North Korean accounts! Releases September 14th.

 

DRCs

I have 2 DRCs I’m aiming to post reviews for this September! First one is A Forest of Wolves by Chelsea Luna, which is the sequel to Lions in the Garden earlier this year! I liked the first book much more than I expected, thanks in part to the unusual setting (medieval Prague). Really looking forward to reading this one! After that it’s Faithful by S.A. Wolfe. The cover reminds me of fantasy novels, but it’s actually a contemporary romance. Fingers crossed I’ll enjoy the heck out of these!

 

Tags and Nominations

I got around to posting the Real Neat Blog Award! Thank you again for the nomination you guys. And I managed to get off my ass and complete The Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag! This has some of my favourite books, characters, and other great stuff, heh.

 

Memes and ChallengesMBookishKittyButton2016

My partner for the Summer Comment Challenge was Wendy from Musings of a Bookish Kitty! I love the books she reads and reviews – so different from my usual genres, and thanks to that I have a few more books on my TBR that I otherwise wouldn’t have come across. Give her a visit!

And as usual, have you popped on over my First Lines Fridays posts? 😀

 

Life Updates, ETC.

  • A book that caught my attention was The Whiskey Sea by Ann Howard Creel! Wendy gave an insightful review about the book and I’m looking at my calendar to see where I can sneak this in.
  • Have you read Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen? It’s my August Classic of the Month 😀
  • I’ve also continued, albeit sporadically, my Reading Sprints!
  • August also means the final month of the Summer Comment Challenge! Thanks again Lonna and Alicia for hosting this!
  • What do you guys do when coffee isn’t working for you anymore?? Like it can’t keep you awake. That’s my problem right now – I’ll feel so sleepy when at work but then feel the effects much later 😐

 

Random Things

  • Currently Watching

Moonlight20
Moonlight Drawn By Clouds starring Park Bogum and Kim Yoojung – what a visually pleasing duo, and the drama is pretty funny so far! Show don’t let me down!

How about you guys? What went down with you this August?

4 thoughts on “Farewell to August, Random Life Updates™, ETC. (ノ^∇^)ノ゚

  1. It’s the last day of August, isn’t it? It barely registered until just now. I am so glad to have met you, Nina. 🙂 It’s been such fun getting to know you–and you’ve done your share of introducing me to great sounding books. You’ve motivated me to want to read Northanger Abbey before the year is out. I’m really looking forward to it.

    A Forest of Wolves and Faithful both sound really good. I look forward to reading your thoughts on them. You had such a good reading month! I hope you have a great one in September too!

Leave a Reply

